The Five Love Languages that Stand the Test of Time

Gary D Chapman has done a great job to summarise the love languages into a great book, have you ever thought about them?

What was the first thing that made you fall in love with your partner? Do you remember it? Probably or probably not, but that was the love language between you and your partner that kick-started the romance between you both. Love languages can be innumerable and everyone has his or her show of affection. It might not be verbal always but it is that one thing that makes you always tick in a romantic relationship with your partner. So what are they? Let’s have a look at the five love languages that make being in a relationship feel more special.

  1. Quality Time

Love calls for undivided affection that does not stand the test of time. After all, a person who is in love with you will always make every minute of the relationship worth memorable. In love priorities don’t stand a chance. You have got to choose out of the two. For, Love and time are the two things that can only be spent but never bought. If you are new in a relationship, utilize this quality time right now. Go spend the entire evening with your partner, have those little silly talks together, watch the moon, enjoy each other’s company…it’s these little things in a relationship that will matter the most.

  1. Acts of Service

It’s the action that will speak louder than the words. If you really say you love her, mean it. If you really want to make it up to him, then do it. Don’t wait to think.

Acts of service are simple acts of service that mean a lot for your partner. It can be vacuuming the floor or buying a bouquet of rose. In fact, it can be anything! These little acts or service speak out loud than a simple “I Love You”. They are like, “let me do that for you”, an act of taking up responsibility. Broken commitments and lazy bones are negative speeches that indicate that your feelings don’t matter in the relationship.

  1. Words of Affirmation

Agree or not, but hearing just the words, “I Love You” can make your spirits go sky-rocketing upwards. These are the words that may sound simple but they carry a lot of weightage when conveyed to the concerned person at the right time. On the other hand, insults and accusations can leave a person completely shattered and with full of grudges.

  1. Receiving Gifts

Gifts can also be gestures and the perfect gestures are wonderful gifts that show how much you care for the person. But let not physical gifts be a symbol of materialism. A surprise gift can sometimes make a person feel wonderful and excited. It also makes a relationship even more fun. However, make sure you do not miss out the important dates. They will matter too. An occasional gift or gesture is as special as an everyday one.

  1. Physical Touch

This is not just about getting all physical. In fact, the primary language of physical touches can be as simple as a hug, a pat or holding hands. They can also be a show of love, care and concern, something, the lack of which can cause sadness in a partner or spoil a beautiful relationship.

Recent Content